Hand tremor

Welcome to Cello Chat, a bulletin board of the Internet Cello Society. Cello Chat is a message board for the discussion of the cello and cellists...All
cellists, whether professionals, amateurs, students, or children are more than welcome to post messages here. Tim Janof and Tom Sisk are the moderators of Cello Chat.
BennyM
New CelloChatter

15 Mar 2017, 20:50 #1

I know this is a long shot but has anyone had experience helping a student who suffers from essential tremor (or have dealt with this yourself)?  If so, were there any techniques or approaches you found helpful?  I’m looking to find an approach to minimize the effect of the shaking hands on the sound I produce.  

I have had essential tremor since a young age.  It was severe in my teens but became milder through my 20’s.   Five years ago I started learning to play the cello, and the hand tremor was mild enough that it didn’t hinder me too much, except for when I get nervous.   However, recently it has started to become more severe again, especially in the right hand.  It is now at a point that a long slow bow sounds more like I am playing Sautille.   

I have a wonderful teacher who has helped me get to a fairly good level of playing for 5 years (even if I do say so myself...), but she has not encountered this particular issue before.  We are going to try experimenting with various approaches to see what helps, but I am hoping someone might have some ideas for us to try.   I appreciate the limitations of trying to explain complex motor skills via the written word so I don’t hope for anything too in-depth here, but any general principles or thoughts you might have that may help us think of something in a different way would be appreciated.

And if not, then just consider this as a “hi!” and let me say how much I’ve enjoyed reading all your posts over the past few years.
Last edited by BennyM on 16 Mar 2017, 00:08, edited 2 times in total.

iamnycellist
Reticent CelloChatter